Recensioni per City Year Senior Corps Member | Glassdoor.it

Recensioni su City Year per Senior Corps Member

Aggiornato il 10 gen 2016

Per filtrare le recensioni, o .

4.6
98%
Consiglia a un amico
99%
Approvazione del CEO
City Year CEO Michael Brown
Michael Brown
12 valutazioni
  1. "Great for Recent College Grads!"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Ex collaboratore esterno - Senior Corps Member in Denver, CO
    Consiglia
    Prospettive neutrali
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year per meno di un anno ()

    Vantaggi

    -Student loans award after completing a set amount of hours (around $5,000) -Great way to develop as an individual based on what your needs are (leadership, diversity, real-world experience) -Regular training sessions that includes job interview prep, resume refining and college applications in addition to your needs in the school environment -They assist you with making sure you have a plan for when you year of... service ends and continue to network with you afterwards as a valued alumni.

    Mostra di più

    Svantaggi

    -Age range is significant, you could have corps members fresh out of high school and immature for a professional work environment. -Long hours... for a living stipend -The uniform -Physical Training

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    Off the same level of flexibility that you require from the corps members. A little more transparency will help corps members to work towards the overall goal(s).

    City Year2016-01-11
  2. "Great experience to learn more about your self and help others"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Ex dipendente - Senior Corps Member in Washington, DC
    Consiglia
    Prospettive positive
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year per oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    - community - Unity (ubuntu) - planning/help with next steps - leadership development - resume builder - great results!

    Svantaggi

    - long hours and hard work! - sometimes disorganized - very large non-profit- businesslike atmosphere - cultish sometimes

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    stay organized, and in your lane: keep on being focused and doing the great public service you are doing !

    City Year2015-10-30
  3. "Great People, Great Work Community, Misguided Idealism"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Ex dipendente - Senior Corps Member in Boston, MA
    Consiglia
    Prospettive neutrali
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year per oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    Long-Lasting Friendships Strong Focus on Professional Development Great Brand, Awesome Connections, Always on the cutting edge

    Svantaggi

    Focus on "dropout crisis" without real discussion on opportunity and wealth divide/inequity Lack of focus on civic engagement beyond physical service projects In certain sites, not at diverse as you would expect

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    Focus on the first part of the mission. Really get involved with the community with regards to civic engagement via voter turnout, social activism Convene discussions, conferences and actions addressing opportunity, access and wealth inequity

    City Year2015-01-20
  4. "Great organization. The culture may not be for everyone, but if you give it time you'll probably fall in love with it."

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Dirigenti senior
    Senior Corps Member in Little Rock, AR
    Consiglia
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year per oltre un anno ()

    Vantaggi

    The people, the history, the idealism being put to work.

    Svantaggi

    Some of the organizational culture is plain silly and doesn't contribute much. Other parts of the culture are great and really add value.

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    Cut the culture things that don't add value and keep people from joining or continuing on. Publish the Idealist Journey.

    City Year2014-09-15
  5. "Life changing"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Dipendente attuale - Senior Corps Member in Boston, MA
    Consiglia
    Prospettive positive
    Approvazione del CEO

    Lavoro presso City Year da oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    I have worked at CY for two years now as a corps member and I absolutely love it. The culture and support of the company is amazing. My first year, I got to work with high school students who were at risk of dropping out. I have never learned more about what I wanted to do with my life until I joined CY. This year, I lead corporate volunteers in beautifying communities across the country. Both jobs, have challenged... me in different ways and has allowed me to grow. Teamwork and culture are the best part.

    Mostra di più

    Svantaggi

    You live on a stipend as a corps member and sometimes it is tough. However, you do get a $ 5,500 scholarship once you have completed one year.

    City Year2014-04-06
  6. "Corps Member"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Dipendente attuale - Senior Corps Member 
    Consiglia
    Prospettive neutrali
    Nessuna opinione sul CEO

    Lavoro presso City Year da oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    The best part is working with the students and developing relationships with them. You learn a lot about yourself and the world around you. You develop a lot as a person and leader. The education stipend at the end is a great bonus as well. And you get a lot of free stuff.

    Svantaggi

    Extremely long hours and very little money. Also - there are a lot of rules that can be seen as constraining. Also - if Corps members around you decide to be negative, it's hard to fight it. Negativity and gossip can become a disease among the Corps members that can negatively affect your experience. Also - self care can become difficult.

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    Be flexible with the Corps members, and keep the mental health of the Corps members a priority.

    City Year2014-03-29
  7. "City year has supported me to grow incredibly as a professional and individual"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Dipendente attuale - Senior Corps Member in Columbus, OH
    Consiglia
    Prospettive positive
    Approvazione del CEO

    Lavoro presso City Year da oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    Great Training and support for direct service with students Great Network opportunities Exposure to high profile community movers and shakers Amazing managerial and site support in plans for after City Year

    Svantaggi

    Inefficiencies in time entry systems due to nature as americorps program Long hours

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    Continue to "listen to the corps" as the answers are probably there. Open up a clear pipeline for Senior Corps Members to enter as staff if City Year is looking to expand.

    City Year2013-10-27
  8. "Senior Corps Member"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Ex dipendente - Senior Corps Member in Detroit, MI
    Consiglia
    Prospettive positive
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year per oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    lots of opportunities to network, community involvement, exposure to other non-profits in the area, opportunities to grow and do things that you wouldn't normally do in an entry level job, fun work culture

    Svantaggi

    low wages (part of being in AmeriCorps), long hours, weekly schedule varies,

    City Year2013-10-24
  9. "This experience is life changing."

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Ex dipendente - Senior Corps Member in Manchester, NH
    Consiglia
    Prospettive positive
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year per oltre un anno (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    Extremely transforming work that makes a major impact in communities.

    Svantaggi

    Extremely hard job. Forces you to become introspective and understand the things you are good at and not good at. Challenges you to change for the better and teaches you how to become a leader.

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    I would be more intentional and consistent at the transparency you provide. Give the 'why' for decisions made, and give appropriate time for people to adjust to changes.

    City Year2013-10-15
  10. Utile (1)

    "Hard work, very rewarding, transferrable skills"

    StellaStellaStellaStellaStella
    • Equilibrio lavoro/vita privata
    • Cultura e valori
    • Opportunità di carriera
    • Stipendio e benefit
    • Dirigenti senior
    Ex dipendente - Senior Corps Member 
    Consiglia
    Prospettive positive
    Approvazione del CEO

    Ho lavorato presso City Year (tempo pieno)

    Vantaggi

    -Lots of leadership training -Changes the way you view the world -Engages you in communities -Awesome, engaging culture -The kids you work with will change your life. -Opportunities to learn lots of new skills and work with new organizations -Segal Award at the end--$5550 scholarship -Make lifelong friendships -Learn what you're good at and what you need to work on--I can ace job interviews now. -Free... cable/internet through Comcast -Community support/recognition

    Mostra di più

    Svantaggi

    -60 hours weeks -Low pay ($500/biweekly) -Organization still learning what it's about, but growing well. -The culture isn't for everyone -Need to learn how to balance work/life while working here -Can get exhausted mentally and get compassion fatigue from working with kids in tough situations.

    Consigli per i dirigenti

    You lose a lot of good talent when your SCMs don't get offered positions. Work on developing their talent and skills so you can keep them.

    City Year2013-07-22
Recensioni trovate: 19